Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / Hobart Institute of Welding Technology
- - By Hiko Date 02-16-2008 03:17
Hello.
My name is Hiko.  I have three years of welding experience but I do not have any welding certification so I am thinking that I am going to take the cobination structural & pipe welding program at Hobart Institute of Welding Technology.  Can I challenge any test like ASME IX before or after graduation.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 02-16-2008 07:44
Why not ask the people at Hobart?

They will train you to just about any standard so I don't know why they wouldnt test you also.

Keep in mind that Hobart cert will only get you in the door to take another test for the job you are looking for.
Parent - By Hiko Date 02-16-2008 13:51
Thanks Lawrence

Yuo are right. I am going to ask my question to them.  Thank you for your time.

Hiko
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 02-16-2008 21:55
Regardless of school or experience you can take any welding test that is given. Weldig tests are typically administered by employers.

An ASME test can mean anything from a flat fillet weld on plate and up. Same for AWS . There are no prerequisites for taking any of the tests. Your amount of skill will be that factor that controls how long you are allowed to test.
Parent - - By Hiko Date 02-16-2008 23:01
Thanks  Pipewelder_1999

My experience are welding heavy duty equipments with GMAW for 2 years and fabricating steel products for 1 year.  I do not have any stick or TIG welding skills.  I feel I need improve stick and TIG welding skills before I take a test.  That is why I would like to go school.  Any advise is welcome.

Hiko 
Parent - - By Tnwelder (**) Date 02-17-2008 16:45
Hiko