Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / What are you charging to test welders?
- - By swsweld (****) Date 02-25-2008 21:48
I have used the search feature and not too much turned up on this subject.
If we provide all tools, equipment, materials, test supervision and CWI, what is a fair price for a standard D1.1 groove/fillet test? Also will be testing ASME IX 6G test. What if you only administer the test and all materials and equipment are by others? I have only tested our welders and new hires but a local company recently inquired if we could test their welders for a large project and I didn't want to cut anyone's throat. I am a welder/CWI so I also want to be fair to the welders that may be paying for their own test.

I am set up to do bend and macroetch test. No Xrays. Before I became a CWI I would test our guys and send the coupon off to be xrayed for $150.00 per coupon but has increased prices recently. I'm thinking that was a great price as I got the same rate as the large volume companies got. A friend of a friend kind of rate.
I often see welders giving advice on rates in the forum. Hope this is not an unethical question. I am not looking to do this full time at the moment but this would be a good opportunity to get experienced at testing and the opportunity just came up out of nowhere. Thanks for any advice on the subject.
Parent - - By fbrieden (***) Date 02-25-2008 22:14
We supply: Booth/machine (no hourly fee)
                All consumables
                Practice material
                Test material - 1"
                AWS D1.1 3G 4G $250.00 each

Same thing for ASME Section IX  6" Schedule 80 A106 - $325.00
Parent - - By swsweld (****) Date 02-26-2008 02:58
Thanks fbrieden, that does seem reasonable.
Parent - - By Bill M (***) Date 02-27-2008 15:22