Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / IAS/AISC Wich is better
- - By jrw159 (*****) Date 03-05-2008 19:30
My question is pretty simple and I know I will probably get many different opinions. All are welcome. I have experience with ISO and just a little now with IAS. I was asked to look into AISC due to possible customer requests. Which one would be the best to aquire so as to cover the most customer demand? Does this vary any by location. Also should mention that we work to AWS D1.1 current rev. 
Parent - - By Joseph P. Kane (****) Date 03-05-2008 20:04
Demand varies from jurisdiction to jurisdicetion.  IAS is tougher to keep.  You are subject to unannounced inspections.  AISC has announcd inspections.  I am a third party inspector, and I have never seen the AISC assessor / evaluator come out on the shop floor and check out the real quality controll system in operation,(or rather lack of operation). 

From a quality standpoing IAS is far and above AISC.
Parent - - By swnorris (****) Date 03-05-2008 20:11
Since you're working with AWS D1.1, I'd say go with AISC.  That's the typical combination for structural applications.  Do you have job specifiations? If so, the requirements should be addressed there.
Parent - - By jrw159 (*****) Date 03-05-2008 20:19
I have not actually viewed the specs but I am reasonably sure that the customer has requested AISC just due to the way the issue was presented to me.
Parent - - By James Corbin (**) Date 03-05-2008 23:13
AWS also has a Fabricator Certification program if your company does things not covered by AISC.   http://www.aws.org/w/a/certification/FAB/
The audit is similar. I came from a Bridge shop that was AISC Major Bridge / Fracture Critical, it takes a lot of record keeping staying ahead of the curve but I think in the long run it makes a better product.