Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Which is better...Miller or Lincoln?
- - By KAKnight Date 03-11-2008 15:40
I am a beginner at welding and am looking to purchase my own MIG welder to start on. I have welded with one of my buddy's Hobart 140 and it seemed pretty good. But I am looking to purchase a Lincoln or a Miller. The Lincoln's that im looking at are either the 140C or the 180C and the Miller's are 140 or 180. My question is which welder would be best to learn on and be good later on down the road and be reliable?
Parent - By 357max (***) Date 03-11-2008 16:31
Ask your distributor to demo both machines and use 100% CO2 for the demo. Then step back and use the 75% Argon & 25% CO2. A good test is worth a thousand opinions.
Parent - By GRoberts (***) Date 03-11-2008 19:32
Blue or Red doesn't really matter too much, they are both good machines.  Pick the one that has the most features that you want and the welding you intend to do.  Also, make sure you have a great blue or red dealer around that can help you when problems come up.  If you get a red machine, but the only decent techincal help in your area is for blue, you might have picked the wrong one.
Parent - - By Jeffrey Grady (***) Date 03-11-2008 20:09
KaKnight,
  I own the Lincoln 180c, But weld with Miller at my college welding school. I like both and am lucky enough to have 4 distributors within a ten mile radius that sell and service Either Miller or Lincoln welders. be sure ...as was previously mentioned, you purchase one from a dealer that also has techs to service it. As for hobart...in my area, the only place i've seen them being sold is at the local Farm&Fleet, right next to the Clark welders.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 03-11-2008 20:14
The Hobart that I bought had Miller paperwork packaged with it, along with a few extra Miller tips.
Parent - By Kix (****) Date 03-11-2008 20:21