Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Teachers and Mentors and Learners
- - By aevald (*****) Date 03-12-2008 09:43
Hello everyone, I wanted to post this up for all to see and consider. I do feel lucky to be in a profession that is my current titled position: a welding instructor. Even though that title describes my current position of employment I do feel it is a bit misleading. Here is the basis for my last statement: before I became a "welding instructor" I was a welder, fabricator, mechanic, shade tree machinist, and many other things within our industry. At the same time I was also one of the individuals who wished to share my abilities with the others around me as others had shared with me(learning part). I always considered the job at hand to be one of collaboration and an opportunity to share and work towards a common solution to various fabrication and welding challenges. This line of thought helped to keep the job from becoming just a job as opposed to providing an outlet and resource for learning and sharing. I was once asked why the choice for teaching, I thought for a while and realized that during the majority of my career I was teaching and learning and passing on learning. I believe that all of us are "teachers" whether we call ourselves that or not. We are also mentors, many of those that I have had the pleasure and honor of working with during the course of my career provided examples to me and exhibited qualities of things that I wanted to be. I believe that whether you actually consider yourselves as a teacher or a mentor to those around you....... you are. When you had the influence of mentors and teachers that impacted you in a positive way you were a learner. Considering these thoughts helps to ground me and make me take a second look at how I might react to a situation in a more positive way. To me the forum has been an awesome resource in many