Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Getting out the Military!!
- - By westj911 Date 03-24-2008 23:47
Getting out the military soon 9 months exactly, but anyway I have been a welder off and on for about 7 years no certificates to show for though, I am a Aviation Structural Mechanic (AM) love welding everything about it I am farelly good at stick welding and just now learning TIG and its coming along great.  Just wondering what steps I need to take to start a good career.  Also what pays the best welding on the East coast (North Carolina)  I have heard pipe welding and some said peteroleum that I have read. But I guess that is Mid West, any help will definetly be appreciated thanks.
Parent - By Roadtrash (*) Date 03-25-2008 00:36
you might want to take a look at http://www.helmetstohardhats.org/ it will give you several different options for trades to join.
Parent - By bozaktwo1 (***) Date 03-25-2008 16:36
If you have been working in the 2219 and want to stay in the aerospace world then get familiar with D17.1 and hunt up a job in the industry.  Lots of aerospace work for good TIG welders.
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 03-25-2008 17:03 Edited 03-25-2008 17:36
West,

Thank you for your service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was an AMS back during the Reagan administration... Stationed out of NAS Lemoore.  A4's, A7's and F/A18's

I would suggest you get yourself to your station AIMD 500 Div. (Intermediate Level Maintainence Division) and make friends with the folks in the Airframe Division especially Work Center's 51C (welding) and 51F (NDT).... 

In 51C, See if they will give you pointers, let you practice GTAW, they should have scrap material and componants laying about.  Tell them you can stick weld and see if they might let you build them some racks or something in exchange for training on GTAW of Stainless, Aluminum and Inconel.