Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / ok fella's honest opinion here
- - By jesusno2 (*) Date 03-26-2008 03:01
Ok I live in oregon here and the community college in salem is getting ready to start up i've been welding for about 7 years now mig and tig(mainly for self employment making motorcycle parts) i got about 10 months of solid flux core under my belt. Is it gonna be worth it to pay for some certifications through the school or find a employer that will cert me for certain jobs i'd really like to get into pipe certs and stuff and learn some of that stuff. someday so i can make more than 10 bucks an hour in these mom&pop shops around here.
Parent - By thewelder (***) Date 03-26-2008 05:52
HI you doing "welder", Hei if you can got the cert's from the college that way the cert's will be your's and you can go any were with "your" cert's not the company's cert's. the other way when you lef the company how certified you the cert's stay there. Some companys are easy on you went they know you have your cert's. Is money in mom&pap shops just you have to have your cert's, and time to look aroun, just a comment. any thing I can help you I'm on Los Angeles, Socali.
Parent - By medicinehawk01 (**) Date 03-26-2008 07:45
It has been my experience that you'll never make much money working at mom & pop welding shops. Been there  & done that, and whether you go out and get your cert or work for someone else who demands you be certified...........where is it that you want to work? Construction pays the most especially if you have your own rig and everyone is always looking for pipe welders. So, learn to stick weld carbon steel pipe (6010 root, Bal. 7018) and TIG weld ss pipe and you can work anywhere in the US of A. You'll make twice that 10/hour and then some, but you'll have to travel abit. You'll always be working, imo.
Parent - By Fredspoppy (**) Date 03-26-2008 12:00