Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Airco welder repair?
- - By jpcook13 Date 03-31-2008 20:27
I'm brand new to this BBS, so please allow for my ignorance, if this isn't the right forum for this.  I have an Airco welder/generator (Wasp II DC 200 amp) that I have used for many years around the farm.  I know this unit is obsolete, and I can't find any repair manuals, etc. or anybody that might have access to replacements for the electronics for this unit.  It has served my purposes very well, but it has recently been very difficult to get to switch from "Weld" to "Power".  It has a gang of manual switches operated by one lever, to go from one mode to the other.  The switches seem to work fine, but I have to switch back and forth repeatedly to get it to get any output for either mode.  I finally got disgusted, and took the switches out of the equation, by disconnecting them and jumpering out all of the appropriate wires to be in "weld" mode.  No Luck, same thing for "power" mode, so I fugure it has to be in the electronics, or maybe in the alternator unit itself.  At the same time as the problem with very low to no output, the Idle Control stopped working. (It won't idle down, just runs full bore)  Does anyone have any information on this unit, or even know if it has a brush & slip-ring or brushless alternator.  Could bad brushes produce the problem noted?  I really hate to just junk this unit, I've maintained it over the years, the 16 HP B&S engine still runs like a top, starts everytime, and there is nothing "obviously burned up" or shorted out on the unit.  (BTW, as I understand, Airco was bought out by someone else, eventually winding up as a step child of ESAB, contracted out to ArcProducts for repair.  I've been to the ESAB/ArcProducts website, with no luck)
Thanks for any help you might be able to give me..  "Spring is here, and equipment needs fixin'" !