Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / training in AZ
- - By dusmcbro Date 04-02-2008 20:04
Looking to expand my qualifications. I'm located in Mesa Az. I've been welding for about 5+ years(MIG only). Just wonder where's a good place to get certification or receive some schooling. I've heard Community College, but is that the best.

thanks to anyone that can add to this topic
dustin
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 04-02-2008 23:49
Hello Dustin, your choices for upgrading are fairly substantial. The private schools can generally provide the quickest and most intense training to advance you rapidly, they also generally have top-notch instructors with very good skills that they can pass on. As you may also find out they aren't inexpensive, the time-frame and skills that they can provide to you will have a price, you have to decide as to whether these skills and turn-around times are worth the price.
     You mentioned community college, you can possibly group technical colleges and skills centers into this group too. I believe in many instances you can receive very good training from these facilities. The trick with these is to do a bit of investigation to determine the types of programs that are available and to also check with the employers that they generally provide employees to to determine their levels of satisfaction and whether the training was adequate. If you are willing to take a bit more time and not wanting to break the bank in the process this path might serve your purpose very well.