Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Can orbital tube welders be used for fillet welds?
- - By Ringo (***) Date 04-09-2008 12:24
We are getting some flanges come in that need to be replaced (2" SS Sch.10 socket weld), and engineering thinks we can us an orbital pipe welder to replace them.

I have some prior experience with them on phamiceutical pipe but only on butt welds.Can the orbital tube welder be used for fillet welds?
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 04-09-2008 13:21
Why would you want to use orbital?
Parent - - By Ringo (***) Date 04-09-2008 14:10
For repeatablity,and quality.
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 04-09-2008 17:07
I understand that, but unless you have something specific in a specification that is driving your application why not use a cheaper quicker alternative?
Parent - - By Ringo (***) Date 04-09-2008 19:34
by cheaper anfd quicker do you mean manually?
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 04-09-2008 20:24
Sure. Manually. Semi auto. GMAW, FCAW, GTAW, SMAW. I haven't seen your spec. I don't know what you are and are not allowed to do.
Orbitals are good for specific applications (for example small bore alloy thin walls, restricted space, etc), though quite expensive. But under most circumstances the repeatability and quality of manual and semi auto welds can be performed more than adequately.
I would not guess that fillet welds is a place where they are cost effective.
Parent - - By Ringo (***) Date 04-10-2008 10:11
It would definatly have to be GTAW,its thin wall stainless 1.5".We may have to go the manual route,because I don't think the head will fit where we need it to.
Parent - By js55 (*****) Date 04-10-2008 13:17
Not being sarcastic, but manually you could probably have 5 welds done before you even get the head on.
Parent - - By OBEWAN (***) Date 04-09-2008 13:38
What thickness range?  Do you have wire feed capability?