Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / Welding Technology - Which college?
- - By RPerry Date 06-05-2001 17:45
Hi all,

First time posting here. I would like to know what everyone thinks about the Welding Technology programs at Northern College and Conestoga College (both in Ontario, Canada). I'm applying to both colleges at the moment (I'm switching from a Mechanical Engineering degree at the University of Waterloo) and was wondering if one has a better reputation than the other.

Any other information would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Richard Perry
Parent - - By Lotney Date 06-12-2001 01:34
Hello,
I am a 2000 graduate of the Pennsylvania College of Technology in Williamsport. I highly recommend checking their website; www.pct.edu. They offer bachelor, associate and certificate welding degrees. I went in knowing nothing of welding and came out with all the knowledge wanted to "name my own price".
P.S. I am not being paid in any way to say these things abovesaid.
Joe

Parent - By RPerry Date 06-12-2001 14:16
Joe,

Thanks for the reply. I'll check into the college that you mentioned, but I would prefer to stay in Canada if at all possible. The education and relocation costs of attending an American college would be prohibitively expensive for me with the current exchange rate.

Thanks,

Richard Perry
Parent - - By Josh Hyde Date 06-14-2001 22:59
Hello Richard,

My name is Josh Hyde and I am a graduate of Conestoga. I took the three-year technology program and am currently working for a MIG welding equipment manufacturer (Tregaskiss - ToughGun). Other graduates work for companies such as ESAB, Liburdi Engineering (Aerospace engineering firm - Hamilton), Air LIquide (Distributor), Canadian Welding Bureau, Guelph Tool and Die.
I also work under a MechEng PhD grad from Waterloo who specialized in welding.