Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Metallurgy / purge P91
- - By Easy638 (*) Date 04-11-2008 02:13 Edited 04-11-2008 02:24
What problems can occur by not purging a GTAW 9% Cr (P91) root weld

I am a welder from NYC on a new powerhouse on Long Island
I have always made these welds with a purge
I know I am going to get sugar and a dead puddle
Hard to weld on My end
Am I going to create any Metallurgy problems, down the road?
This is not My call but from QC to do it?
Parent - - By gwg (*) Date 04-15-2008 09:49
The most common problem will be not passing an RT of the weld root, if an RT is required. Also, the risk of the weld puddle absorbing oxygen and hydrogen can result in inferior mechanical properties of the weld root.
Parent - By Jim Hughes (***) Date 04-25-2008 13:06
Just curious, How is it not going to pass RT? I don't see anything in ASME about rejecting sugar. And how does it affect the mech. properties in a negitive way?  The chrome content is there for it's excellent corrosion resistance and strength at elevated temperatures. The corrosion ability can be impeded by the amount of oxide that forms on the weld. (what is refered to as sugar on the root side of the weld) This has little or no effect on the mech. properties that I know of. We have qualified WPS with black to sugar looking roots and passed the mech. properties part of the process. You would have to perform a G4, or G48 or G78 corrsion test to determine if passivity is being impeded and to what degree.  P91 chrome content helps the strength of the  material at elevated temps. Mostly because of it's use in the power industry where corrosion resistance is a factor but not as much as high chrome material that is in a hostel chemical enviroment.

Thanks
Jim
Parent - By 3.1 Inspector Date 04-18-2008 09:15
Purge during welding on steel above 3% Cr is a must.
If you dont purge it will oxidate - like welding SS without purge.
Parent - - By MBSims (****) Date 04-19-2008 01:34