Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Send me in the right direction!
- - By BBeck001 Date 04-12-2008 16:27
Hi guys, new to the board and looking for some advice. I've been welding for 3 years in the industry. I'm an aerospace welder and certified through GE. I weld 1"-5" .028-.035 inconel and stainless tubing. I started out at the bottom of the payscale ($14-$23) right out of high school. I was fine with this making great wage for my age. My problem is the raises that I'm getting. They are not bringing me up to the correct pay for my experience. Guys are coming in with no aerospace experience starting out more while im training them. Now that the welding market rate has risen the guys coming from vocational schools are climbing the payscale pole past us experienced welders due to the welder shortage. I've complained and complained but can't get them to budge a dime. There are not many jobs in aerospace in my area, so I can't bounce around companies to widen my aerospace experience and raise my rate. I'm just stuck with the 60 cent raises. Maybe you guys can give me some advice to what kinda field I should move into next. Pipefitting? Sheetmetal? I've found a few jobs for pipefitters but they want B31.1 Pipe Welding Code and a 6-G in stainless steel certs.; have or have had. Are they asking for these just to prove weldability? My company owns my certs so it's not something I can haul along with me.

Thanks for all the pointers and advice in advance,
Brian
S.W. Ohio
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 04-12-2008 17:23