Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Welding A2 Tool Steel
- - By msharma4 Date 04-21-2008 20:23
Welding a diaphragm cutting mechanism together - two horizontal pieces, each ~3.5" long welded on either side of single vertical ~7" long piece. Both pieces made from A2 tool steel. The piece was pre-heated to 500F and then air-cooled, and then TIG welded using a 1/16" diameter, MG 710 filler rod with single pass on each fillet weld. The welds cracked as soon as the pass was laid down. 

Since then Ive read that it could be due to incorrect pre-heat or cooling procedure, but I had anticipated this so thats why I made the piece was pre-heated and not cooled too fast. Any suggestions why it might have happened (and how to correct it...)?

I am a grad student from the University of Illinois, so if I havent properly explained anything please lemme know and I will try to clear it up.

Appreciate any help!
Parent - By GRoberts (***) Date 04-22-2008 00:14
The MG 710 wire doesn't apear to be a standard designation.  Can you tell us more about the wire?  Also, since the welds cracked "as soon as the pass was laid down", seems to indicate that you were getting hot cracking in the weld metal as opposed to delayed or hydrogen cracking in the base metal or HAZ.  Most times hot cracking is related to joint geometry &/or weld composition.  So there is a good chance your preheat and slow cooling was adequate and you have discovered another problem.
Parent - By DaveBoyer (*****) Date 04-22-2008 03:19
  In Your post You mention that the part was "heated to 500F and then air cooled, and then TIG welded" The welding must be done while the parts [all of them] are hot and then cooled slowly.