Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / Qualifying welders to D1.1
- - By wldgengr (*) Date 04-22-2008 01:13 Edited 04-23-2008 01:20
I am a recently hired welding engineer for a small job shop.  My main task is to qualify all of our welders to D1.1 standard.  We weld fillet welds, square groove welds, flare bevel welds, and bevel-v welds.  I am trying to figure out the least amount of joint designs to test my welders to get them appropiately qualified.  The welds are done with GMAW process with 90/10 Ar/CO2 shielding gas running either 0.035 or 0.045 Er70S-6 filler.  Most of the welds are in the flat, horizontal, or veritcal down position, management is more worried about asthetics than penetration, so vertical up is not an option due to being on the verge of full spray transfer to keep spatter to a minimum.  My proposal was to qualify everybody to a 45 degree included angle full penetration weld with backing in the horizontal and vertical down orientation on 0.375" plate.  I do realize that the vertical down orientation will have to have a WPS qualified before the welders can be qualified to it.  The problem that I am running into is how to cover the flare bevel, bevel-V and square groove welds with the least amount of joint designs that I would have to have welded and tested
Parent - By Bill M (***) Date 04-22-2008 15:24
Groove design is not an essential variable for welder qualification.  The butt weld you described for testing would qualify for the other joint configurations, as long as they are joints considered with backing.

Welding a coupon vertical down will only qualify the welder for vertical down progression, so if you intend to do any vertical up fillet welds you need to qualify the welder in vertical up somehow.
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 04-22-2008 16:14