Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / I am a newb. CWI another wps?
- - By 67fordgalaxie50 (*) Date 04-22-2008 18:38
Just a quick question, I am trying to prepare a wps, I understand that I can use the pqwp, ok to get to the point the grades of material that are going to be welded are included in Group II of table 3.1 AWS D1.1. with FCAW A5.20, Can the wps be written to join A36 to A36 and qualitify for the other materials in any of those groups that match the same filler metal requirements?  

To me this is something that I should have leaned in the aws class. Maybe I just missed it trying to pass the exam.  anyway thanks

take care

Austin
Parent - - By CLH1978 (**) Date 04-22-2008 19:05
Take a look at paragraph 3.3 in the D1.1.
Parent - - By 67fordgalaxie50 (*) Date 04-22-2008 19:32
Yes I did and have re read many times, that seems too easy.  It is that easy? I am good to go, I can do this. I have to get 6 wq tests finished quickly, one more added question can we (me the CWI) do the side bend test and have an outside inspection company do tensile test? Test is 1" a36 plate  60deg.groove CJP with backing. When using a backing material do we remove it for either the bend and or Tensile tests?  I know there are 2 side bends and 2 tensile required.  

WOW thanks for answering so quick.............Its a little nerve racking when I do not have anyone to ask. I am working for a small job shop that has just started getting into code work.......I do not want to fall down just out of the gate!

Thank you CLH1978

Take care
Parent - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 04-22-2008 20:18
You can do any of the mechanical testing that is required provided you have the equipment.

You do need to remove reinforcement and backing.
Parent - - By pax23 (**) Date 04-22-2008 19:30