Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Welding of Al-5086
- - By valoman (*) Date 04-29-2008 18:11
While trying to do some repair welding on Al-5086 of an aluminum ship, there has been a strange phenomenon. When Al was heated it changed colour like if it was saturated by fuel oil, or some type of oil. Then an oily looking spot started to appear where in some cases was as big as a 15 inch diameter circle. Any idea what this is? Could the Al be "soaked" with fuel oil, and when heated the oil appears on the surface? Any comments?
PS: The surface where the oily spot appears is the outside of the ship's hull and it was blasted before repair work starts.
Parent - - By jrw159 (*****) Date 04-29-2008 19:42
While I am by no means an expert, or even close to it, concerning AL. One thing I have learned is that it is very easy to inpregnate. Could it possibly have somthing to do with the blast media inpregnating the AL and resulting in the discoloration when heated? Just a shot in the dark, and I could very well be way off base.

John
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 04-29-2008 21:09
I do not get all oily when heated!

Al
Parent - - By jrw159 (*****) Date 04-29-2008 21:44
ROFLMFAO!!!

Good catch Al !

I get all heated when I get oily though.

John
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 04-29-2008 22:05
I bet you do! If only you weren't all alone, by yourself!:P

Al
Parent - By jrw159 (*****) Date 04-29-2008 22:16 Edited 04-29-2008 22:18
Yeah, it's still pretty fun, even alone. :-)

Wait, do the voices in my head count?

What??

Ahhh, never mind, they said no. :-)

John
Parent - - By jrw159 (*****) Date 04-29-2008 22:26
BTW, it took me a minute to realize this, but I would think that you would be more defensive about the easily inpregnated statement. LOL :-)

John
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 04-30-2008 02:26 Edited 04-30-2008 02:28
Never take your self too seriously.