Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / stingers
- - By cyrus 07 (**) Date 05-07-2008 17:17
just wondering what kind of stingers you guys use the srew/stubby kind or the clamp jaws kind and which one is better for pipe work or doesnt it even matter.
Parent - - By OBEWAN (***) Date 05-07-2008 17:42
When I was a welder, it was easier to change electrodes with the clamp style.  But, if the electrode ever got stuck, the screw type was better for breaking it loose.  I suppose good welders don't have to worry about the electrode getting stuck, but it happened on occasion when I was learning.
Parent - By Cactusthewelder (*****) Date 05-07-2008 21:15
Try a Duro holder. Once I used one I never use anything else. Been using them about 12 years now
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 05-07-2008 18:20
Hello cyrus 07, "my experiences" have shown that most pipe welders use a clamp type holder, many will use the really small slim styles as they allow for ready access in tighter spots. A lot of the shipyard hands use the stubbies due to the large amount of vertical beading and having a comfortable ready angle for the electrode in that case, they're also kind of nice because you can grip the electrode and bend it to the angle that you like. I also agree that a good stubby will grip the electrode better and allow it to be broken free fairly easily, on the same token, if it gets really stuck it's much more difficult to free the electrode from the holder. It really boils down to a personal preference and what you're used to or come to prefer. My $.02  Best regards, aevald
Parent - By Superflux (****) Date 05-07-2008 20:59