Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / Career change - looking for a new start
- - By glyphrunner Date 05-20-2008 21:16
I'm currently located in Hawley, MN - smack in between Fargo, ND and Detroit Lakes, MN. I have NO experience in welding, of any sort. I am interested in getting into welding, but I keep seeing everyone say that you have to have 5 years of school, 5 years of on-the-job training, and multiple certifications just to be considered for getting hired. Really, this is asinine to assume that someone wanting to get a new career would have to go through more hell than a doctor or lawyer, but it keeps creeping up from other people so it's starting to seem valid.

I am 30 years old, have a wife and daughter. I remember stories from my grandfather that worked in welding for 45 years, and taught part-time during that, that welding was an incredibly fun career, something that you could truly take pride in what you were doing and creating. I've been pounding away at my current career for 9 years, earned a bachelor's and master's degree, and yet I'm still barely making anything above $30,000. I keep hearing about guys working in welding that are raking in over $65,000 and working less than 50 hours per week (compared to my 75 hour average per week).

As I said, I'm married and have a daughter, so I have no desire to leave them behind and have to travel for work. My grandfather worked at the same facility (Ingersoll-Rand/Cabot) most of his welding career, and was home every evening in time to do things with his family. He was not on-call 24/7/365. Are these types of welding careers dead and gone?

So, here are the questions:
What does it take to get into welding?
Do you have to go to tech school before anyone will even look at you?
Are there apprenticeships that take on 100% rookies?
Are you required to join a union and lose all your wages to their "dues?"