Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Literature on autogeneous welds for sheet metal
- - By Metarinka (****) Date 05-21-2008 20:59 Edited 05-21-2008 21:41
Hello, I'll just mention it briefly. I'm a welding engineering intern. Right now my job detail is to create welding procedures and design guide documents for welders and engineers respectively.  The large majority of our products are austenitic stainless steels primarily 304 although I've seen some other types as well.  Most of are products are mild steel frames with stainless steel liners. However we have some rather complex Stainless steel sheet sub assemblies that are formed than welded together.

as of right now the shop doesn't have any sort of standard. If two pieces of  sheet are to be tacked together in a lap joint. one welder may do 1/4" GTAW "hot tack" (generally with no filler) with 6 inch spacing, another will do 2 inch spacing Resistance spot welds.
  I'm trying  to develop a more formal standard for things like spacing, stitch technique, anti distortion practices. For the engineers I'm trying to complie some reference information in regards to GTAW autogenous weld strength and resistance spot weld strength as well as design theory so I can back up a uniform standard with numbers, and so that engineers designing new parts won't leave it up for the welders and test department to determine joint design.

Never before have I worked in a weld shop where the welders picked the process they used!