Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / I cant find a friggin welding job, very mad
- - By KENNY629 (**) Date 05-24-2008 18:42
I have my welding certificate since march of this year and i have posted and sent tons of resumes out there, but its so hard for me to get a job, Now im a Entry Level welder, Im 36yrs old in live in Providence, Rhode Island... the smallest state in the union and we are friggin broke! maybe that's the problem.. anway. Im certified in SMAW Horizontal 4G.
but no one around here seems to wanna hire me. Maybe it's not suppose to be, I guess, not sure... oh well I am just venting here, sorry people.
Parent - - By JTMcC (***) Date 05-24-2008 22:15
Instead of "posting" and "sending out resumes" i would suggest you get up early in the morning, dress in good, clean work clothes (take your hood/gloves/ect.) and drive around and actually show up at places you might want to apply. This will get your foot so much farther "in the door" than any post or mailed/emailed resume ever will.

Being up front about your status as an entry level welder will help.

I garantee you that this will get you results within a couple of weels if you're dilligent. If you don't have any luck the first time around, start at the begining of your list and go see them again.

I do employ welders, and a post, phone call, or resume never got anyone hired with me. Talking to a guy in person does it. In my opinion.
A horizontal cert is pretty useless in the real world environment where all position/unlimited thickness will be quite a bit more helpfull. A horizontal cert tells me a welder can't weld vertical or overhead.

Good luck,
JTMcC.
Parent - - By KENNY629 (**) Date 05-25-2008 13:35