Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Metallurgy / Help -- Welder in Poland
- - By karpiel07 Date 05-27-2008 15:09
Hi All,

We're welding mtb bike frames in Europe and we've had the hardest time finding heat treaters for ALU 6061. We have a good vendor in the UK, but shipping back and forth is a costly nightmare. We're trying to work with Heatmasters locally, but we sent a test batch through them and the material came back too soft. They showed us a graph that indicated the test material had been solution annealed at 986 F for 30 minutes then quenched in water then aged at 350 F for 8 hours. This material seemed like it was T4 at best though. We're having it tested, but has anyone encountered something like this? We're desperate for answers here. Also, how long after aging does 6061 set at T6 (10-12 hours? is it hard right out of the oven?) Sorry for being such a newbie here, but i'm kind of between a rock and a hard place...
Parent - - By thomasyyz (**) Date 05-27-2008 21:11
maybe some one can bump this thread to the "Metallurgy" section, cheers!
Parent - By jrw159 (*****) Date 05-28-2008 02:33
I agree :-)
Parent - - By jrw159 (*****) Date 05-28-2008 02:33
:-)
Parent - - By gwg (*) Date 05-29-2008 04:21
Using my handy ASM Handbook on-line subscription

for 6061 extruded bar, shapes and tube

Solution treatment temperature 985 deg F , precipitation treatment for T6  350 deg F for 8 hours
Parent - - By gwg (*) Date 05-29-2008 04:24
Keep in mind that the product form and how it was worked prior to heat treatment result in different properties. For example, drawn tube is subjected to a slightly different precipitation heat treatment  320 deg F for 18 hours to achieve a T6 temper.
Parent - - By karpiel07 Date 05-29-2008 15:07