Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / Minimum Effective length
- - By Metarinka (****) Date 06-03-2008 21:59
Hello I'm a welding engineering intern

AS per D1.1 2.4.2.3
(3)"minimum length: the minimum effective length of a fillet weld shall be at least four times the nominal size..."

I'm having trouble finding the minimum effective length of any other joint configuration. Specifically I'm designing and detailing joints that are type GTAW 304 18 Ga. SS.  I've had trouble finding any data on minimum effective length either in D1.1 or 1.6. would the 9.1 the sheet metal code shed any light on this situation?  I've run into prints I'm revising that have 1/8-1/2 stitch welds or 1/4-2.  Right below it it's states that the minimum length of an intermittent weld shall be 1.5" which I assume confirms that it's a bad design, however what about short joint lengths (under 6 inches) or other joint types (groove, corner) etc.  Any information would be useful.

I assume that to a welder 1/4-2 or any other short detail would be interpreted as tack every x amount of distance. Obviously autogenous tacks don't seem like a good joint design to me and this seems like a poor detail.
Parent - - By Bob Garner (***) Date 06-04-2008 18:16
The minimum length restriction on fillet welds is for design purposes.  If you make the weld shorter than 4x the size, then you have to design the weld structurally as if it's only 1/4 as long as it actually is.  E.g. if you specify a 1/4" weld that's, say, 1/2" long, than you design it for strength as if it's only 1/4 x 1/2" = 1/8" long.

As far as I know, this requirement is unique to fillet welds and there are no restrictions on lengths of other types of welds.  Anyone else know better?

Bob Garner
Parent - By Bob Garner (***) Date 06-04-2008 18:42