Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / BoilerMaker-Union?
- - By Soflokustomz Date 06-05-2008 21:40
Hi, I am currently a welder in Orlando, FL working at a small fab shop, upon searching for a better job that will allow me to advance my welding career I have come across the BNAP- union in Jacksonville,FL local 199. After reading just about every post on this site ( very useful ), I still have some questions about joining the apprenticeship program.

1. When you are starting out as an apprentice and you have to travel, do you mostly travel in a group with other apprentices or alone?

2. When going to different states how long are jobs usually ?

3. I understand there is no per diem so starting out at 65% journeyman's pay in FL $17.00 , would  I be financially stable traveling from place ( gas, food, housing/motel?

Those are a few main questions that came off the top of my head, I would really like help answering these questions and if anyone on here can share there boilermaker union apprenticeship experiences pros/cons.
Parent - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 06-06-2008 11:38
If you have the abilty to travel with others you will be able to take home more money. The abilty to stay with others and be dependent upon them for travel is an individual thing. Its the same union or non-union. More non-union jobs pay per-deim but often at the cost of some of the benefits provided by the boilermakers.

The length of the jobs varies. The spring and Fall are the peak seasons for boiler work. A new construction job could last years. Those that really make some good money often do so by sacrificing a great deal of time at home.

This type of work can be hard on relationships etc. If you get wrapped up in the money and working all the time.

Welcome to the forum.

Gerald
Parent - - By tighand430 (***) Date 06-06-2008 20:40