Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / steam fitters union
- - By and4rik (**) Date 06-07-2008 01:31
  I recently signed up for a pipe welding program with the local union.  The class is 16 weeks 8 hrs a day for no pay, experience only.  But succesfull completion gets me ahead of the waiting list for a 5 year apprenticeship and a small increase in starting wages, I think about 16$ per hr.   This all sounds fine, but I am woundering if this is a good choice for me.  I have about 3 years welding experience, 6 months at the local tank building shop.  I can read prints and am extremely meticulous with my work.  I have seen posts stating that jouney level pipe welders are making  around $39/hr plus a per diem.  Where else could I get the training required to achieve journey level certification with out going through the local union.  The local community college has good teachers, but on the job training is more of what I am looking for.   I recently applied for a field position with another refinery services company, I was told that pay goes from 16 to 37 per hour with a per diem.  But my experiences with the last shop leads me to belive that a steady increase in wages and on the job training is not always guaranteed. 
   Is union the way to go?
Parent - - By Tnwelder (**) Date 06-07-2008 02:18
and4rik in my opinion the union is the way to go yea maybe you will not be getting payed but it will get you in the door and get you in a great union. The UA is the best union for pipefitters and pipe welders. But also it all depends on what you want dont forget that. You are the only one who can make that decision.  I do know one thing is that every job in my area are leaving and going to mexico for cheaper labor and some are welding jobs so with the union it is not going to move.  Keep in touch and tell me how it goes.
Parent - - By and4rik (**) Date 06-07-2008 03:02