Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Question for Fabricators and Welders
- - By Costello Date 06-14-2008 17:47
Are Fabricators glorified welders?

The reason I ask is, my employer is accepting apprenticeship applications for Welders and Fabricators.
I'm new to welding world and I was wondering if there was a real difference between the two.
I know that they both weld and both need to know how to read blue prints.
Parent - - By texwelder (***) Date 06-14-2008 18:43
Oh yeah there is a difference, just because a man can read a set of prints does not make him a fabricator, a true fabricator will design something in his head, then build it, that the reason I say you can tell if a man is a fabricator or not by some of the custom truck beds you see on these rigs.
Parent - - By Joseph P. Kane (****) Date 06-14-2008 21:33
Texwelder

Your reply is full of passion, but as an answer to the man's question it is pure male bovine excrement!
Parent - By texwelder (***) Date 06-14-2008 21:40 Edited 06-14-2008 22:03
My old man told me one time that a lot of people can weld not anybody can fabricate. Its true I've seen welders that could run the slickist bead you ever seen, but could not fabricate a truck bumper. And yeah it didn't really answer his question. also i am speaking from a self employeed welder and fabricators stand point.  I see a lot of guys who think just they welded in high school shop class they are welder/fabricators
Parent - - By johnnyh (***) Date 06-15-2008 19:25
The original question is silly and Texwelder's responses are worse.
Parent - - By texwelder (***) Date 06-15-2008 19:30
Explain why it is silly, here in texas we have guys that can weld, but could not pour piss out of a boot with the directions on the hill.
Parent - By snuffman (***) Date 06-15-2008 21:32
Not just in Texas Ive met them all over the country.
Parent - - By johnnyh (***) Date 06-15-2008 21:53