Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Questions about pipelining.
- - By Sharp Tungsten (**) Date 06-19-2008 22:07
First off let me say I know a little bit about welding as a Union Boilermaker. We weld tubing and plate by trade. But when the pipefitters aren't looking we do not mind welding pipe either. But I still really don't get how pipelining's internals work. I understand that you guys weld oil, gas and water pipes in the feild with engine driven welders. I assume that you are working along with operating engineers and laborers. Maybe even carpenters for scaffolding needs I do not know. My big question is how many pipelining companies are there out there?  The one thing that boggles my mind from a union stand point is how can one local control all but 7 states in America? I am not saying that the 798 is doing anything wrong but damn that has to be a big work list for the dispatchers. Or does the 798 dispatch through regular UA fitters locals? I hear alot about the 798 but never hear them talking about the international union which I would believe is the UA correct? Is most pipeling non-union compared to union? What exactly does the 12 on 12 branch test comprise of? My good friend and I are serious about doing pipeling in our off time. Now if you don't already know boilermaking is the best part time job you will ever get. Usually six months off and six months on. But I am interested in pipelining and if I like it enough maybe even a career change I don't know. I am proficient with XX10 series electrodes and very skilled with XX18 electrodes. But we put are roots in with Tig usually unless we are doing window welds which we use 7010 for that application. I am not foolish enough like most other welders to say I am going to jump in there and keep up with seasoned pipeline pros. I am just saying that I am not afraid of telling you guys I can weld a little. I am sure th