Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / help!! 6061 aluminum help
- - By forest whitaker Date 06-24-2008 16:42
hey guys , Im relatively new to welding aluminum. i can run a great bead , but Im still new to all the troubleshooting.

im welding on 6061 t6 .o25 aluminum , and when i get a nice puddle , around the edges of the puddle i get a crust that forms , then the puddle material seems to wash out of where i want it. almost like towo opposite magnets pushing eachother away.  im using argon / helium mix.

im also getting a dirty brownish colored soot.

any suggestion?

thanks!!
Parent - By Kix (****) Date 06-24-2008 16:52
1st off, is the material clean?  Is it anodized aluminum?  What are your machine settings like, A/C balance, A/C Frequency if applicable, Gas flow, Tungsten color, Filler rod size and type?  If you can get us some of these details, we'll be able to help you out a lot more.  .025" aluminum is pretty dam thin to be getting your learn on with. ;-) Try some thicker material while in these begining stages.
Parent - - By bozaktwo1 (***) Date 06-24-2008 17:17