Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Advice about the industry
- - By mprasse178 Date 06-28-2008 20:27
     Hey guys my name is matt and I wanted to pick your brains for some direction. This is my first post on the forum, I have been coming to this website for about 2 years just reading post's and looking for topics that apllied to my work.  I live in Fort Worth, TX and  I have 5 years of welding experience.  I started when I was 19 by walking into a company and letting the plant manger know I wanted to be a welder.  He put me with this 57 year old welder who taught me quite a bit about wire welding Mettalloy 110 wire and Fluxcore, Backgouging, Fiitting and Blueprint reading.  It took me 3 months of being his help (gouging, cleaning bevels) to pass my own weld test.  It was a 2G position 1 inch plate, open root with 820i FLuxcore wire.  I left this company after 14 months and went to another that was going to give me experience in TIG welding 304 and 308 stainless and 2024 aluminum as well as continued wire welding experience and blueprint reading.  Now since I gave you a brief backgroung of my ability my questions concern how, or where someone like myself can get into a good career with welding.  These jobs that I have mentioned won't ever pay too much. Right now I make 16$ hr but I never seeing them paying me more than 20 if I stayed there the rest of my life.  Any texans out there that want to point me to any unions or schools that are good. Or even any industries to look into that will provide demanding ability and competitive pay. I am talking with someone from prudhoe bay to see if I can get up there and be a helper or do anything for them (I'll clean bathrooms if it gets me in the door.) Basically I am intereted in getting into an area like pipe welding, pressure vessels, or boilermaking because that **** matters and requires skill.  I don't expect to make it t