Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / HELP:COMMITING MY LIFE TO WELDING?
- - By GregHeip Date 07-03-2008 21:52
Hey, my name's Greg and I'm new to this great forum.

I have some important questions for you guys because I'm at the point in my life where I need to make a decision about my future.  I'm not sure if I want to go to the local community college and get a general business degree to work in an office...or if I should pursue welding school.

I know that getting by with welding takes a LOT of experience and work.  So before I commit to anything, I'd like to know from you experienced guys what its like to be a "real" welder?  I love this kind of work, but I don't want to run head first into a bad situation, and frankly, I'm scared I'll make the wrong choice.  So please be honest with me!  I appreciate your help.

I'd like to know what frustrates you guys everyday?  What are the hassles I'll be having to put up with?

What makes you guys angry?

If I become a welder, what kinds of things will I have to be worrying about in bed everynight while trying to fall asleep? (you know, with eyes staring blankly at the ceiling, indigestion boiling up in my esophogas, etc)? 

And...will these worries/frustrations be worth it in the end?

And on the other hand...what do you guys gain in satisfaction, enjoyment, and financial return from welding?

Thank you for your insights and advice to anybody who can help me out.  It will make a difference in my future!

Have a great 4th of July.

Greg
Parent - - By rick harnish (***) Date 07-03-2008 23:00
Hello Greg!