Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need Help, Introduction
- - By Cumminsguy71 (*****) Date 07-09-2008 15:44
Hello all,

I'm Shawn and this is my story. Went in the Marines at 18, hung out in the welding shop where I was stationed when I was'nt fixing 5 tons and other mechanical garbage. I went to a mechanic/trade school for auto/diesel technology after I got out. I've been doing it since 1995. I've worked on Cat, Detroit Diesel, Cummins, Western Star, Petes, Case, John Deere and Cadillacs(4 years +/-). I'm a ASE Master, GM master, Cummins,Detroit Certified and have more certs and papers than you can fit into a dump truck. This year I realized that, I'm good at what I do. Fixing machines with no wiring schematics or even a knowledge on how it works and doing it in the field to boot. My last job was with a large rental company who wanted me to dedicate 24/7 to them being on call and covering a pretty large area. I had no problem with the travel really, but at the end of the year when I looked at my w2 I thought, it's not worth that and that was with overtime?? As a master of my trade, who I believe could go into any shop and get a job, be it cars, equipment and so on I don't feel compensated properly for my knowledge/skills.