Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / I need in the union!
- - By Mark Tyree Date 07-10-2008 20:13
I went through Tulsa Welding School last summer. I met some guys at the rv park i was staying at... a lot of them were union. I went to the unions downhill welding school in tulsa and tried to get into there after TWS. They told me to go work for a year on pipelines and go back and then we will talk. Plus they think im too young. Well im fully riged out. I have a 07 dodge with a Vatage 500. I have worked for about 6 months now with my rig making great money but its bull **** old oil tube welding with plastic in it making fences... I have too much training and knowledge for this job and i want to get into the union....I am a slick tig welder on smaller pipe, i can burn 7018 uphill, 6010-8010 downhill.  Is there anywhere else other than Tulsa ok's union school, where i can call and try to get my foot in the door? I have a diploma too show, a good resume, and a Certificate of all the competencies I completed.

Thank You,
Mark Tyree
Parent - By MetalFinagler (*) Date 07-10-2008 22:59
Are you trying to stay in the Oklahoma area?
Parent - By dbigkahunna (****) Date 07-11-2008 00:04
Let me get this straight. You go to school, then go to the union for more training. They turn you down so you rig up and start killing it and dragging it home?
Here is something to think about.
You have initiative drive and are not afraid of work.
There are non-union contractors all over the country who will give you an opportunity.
You could start your own business and have others work for you.
You are developing your own job security. The money you make is YOURS. You do not have to share it with anyone or pay for the privilege of working for someone else.
Keep doing what you are doing! You should be an inspiration to young aspiring welders.
BABRT's
Parent - - By K.Sexton82 (*) Date 07-11-2008 01:04