Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / new to welding
- - By mustang8739 Date 07-13-2008 00:37
Hi guys im new to the welding field . I start school this august at my local community college for welding . i have heard from alot of people
that it is a very good school . my uncle gave me a old lincoln stick welder for  practice . im getting alot better at first i kept getting the electrode stuck to the piece i was welding now i can actually get it going and run a pretty decent bead . the main reason i am writing this is
i have been reading alot of post you guys write and there is so much knowledge  here on this site its amazing . i am trying to get onto power plants most of my family works for them so i thought it would be a great place to start after school. but  first things first i want to buy a nice auto darkening helmet what do you guys suggest how about welding gloves ,jackets, etc, how about where i might be able to go to get more education or what i might want to look into first i know you guys that have been doing this for years are gonna read this and laugh at me but hey you got to start some where any info would greatly be appreciated thank you kelly
Parent - - By brightblue (**) Date 07-13-2008 12:34
Hi Kelly,
Like yourself, I'll be starting school soon too. I think, but can't recall where, there's a thread on here about different helmets. Try using the Search function because I'm pretty sure I saw one. Also, if you Google welding gear you'll see tons of links and your school will probably give you an equipment list. Don't worry about having it all the first day of school but if you DO want it, try emailing the dean of your applied sciences department or one of the welding faculty and ask which local supplier they recommend. You should also get a student discount on your purchases. Good luck with your plans! :)
Parent - By mustang8739 Date 07-13-2008 18:40