Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / I'm new
- - By das jenjamin Date 07-23-2008 00:09
Hi everyone-
I am currently a student at Universal Techincal Institute. I am in the Collision Repair program and of course, welding is part of it. When I started school, I figured I go in the direction of working on cars. That is, until I started welding class last week. So far, I have only been at it, like I said, a week, but I sort of fell in love with it. Automotive repair is without a doubt my fallback, but I'd really,really love to get into welding beyond the 3 weeks of instruction we get at UTI and even beyond welding on cars. So far, we've been practicing vertical and overhead welds- fillet, butt with backing, butt joint and plug welds. I had never even touched a welding machine until last Tuesday, so I am very new. I pretty much love everything about it, right down to being in the hot warehouse w/ leathers on, not to mention we have awesome instructors.
I guess what I am getting at is any information, advice- etc, etc. about this field I can get would be greatly appreciated. I want to learn anything and everything I possibly can I figured this would be a good place to start.
Thanks so much

-Jennifer
Parent - - By medicinehawk01 (**) Date 07-23-2008 07:30