Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Wondering what code is applicable???
- - By vagabond (***) Date 08-01-2008 00:25 Edited 08-01-2008 02:49
I am at a plant and I'm still fairly new to the inspection game.  I'm getting ready to test welders and I am the only inspector on-site.  The AI won't be here for awhile,  it is a fertilizer plant and all my stuff is low pressure exterior piping.  None is in the boiler or under high pressure so I'm thinking 31.3 should be the applicable code.  I've always had a document before, usually that I got from a senior inspector that spec'd the code we were using.  Here it is different, I'm probably going to go with 31.3 unless I hear different and I'll check with the NDE company who's been here before when they get on-site.  Thanks in advance for any input here guys.
Parent - By dbigkahunna (****) Date 08-01-2008 01:01
If the welders are working for the company you represent, then you should have the procedures. B31.3 qualify welders to ASME Section IX. If the welders are working for a contractor, then they have to be qualified by that companies procedures. IN that case, all you would do is witness the test. The test would need to be performed under the supervision and direction of the contractor's QC. You would review the WPS and PQR's and check the test coupons to be sure the material is right. But you would not sign the test papers for that welder unless you work for the contractor.
BABRT's
Parent - - By CWI555 (*****) Date 08-04-2008 13:00
fertilizer plant.. the temtation to mention the farm code was inescapable. With that out of the way, a quote from B31.3 2006.
B31.1 under scope:
300.1.3 Exclusions. This Code excludes the following:
(a) piping systems designed for internal gage pressures
at or above zero but less than 105 kPa (15 psi),
provided the fluid handled is nonflammable, nontoxic,