Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / I need your feedback == Copper Welding Backers
- - By Allen Moss (*) Date 08-07-2008 00:41
I tried to get some feed back on the Automotive section but no one was looking? In the Eastwood catalog I found 4 inch and 8 inch "Magnetic" copper welding backers. Have any of you used these backers? I am a novice welder and am trying to do some MIG work on a 32 Ford Pickup. I will be replacing body panels and this seems like it may be a good idea....but not before asking those of you who know.  If any of you folks can give me some feed back it would be very helpful. Thank you for your  help.
Allen
Parent - - By Joseph P. Kane (****) Date 08-07-2008 02:53
Allen

I have used copper backing bars for years, and not always without problems caused by melting the copper into the steel.  I general, copper backing is very good.  I have never seen a "Magnetic" copper welding backer.
Parent - - By rlitman (***) Date 08-07-2008 06:20
I saw these just recently too, and was wondering the same thing.  It sure looks like a neat idea.
Parent - By Mat (***) Date 08-07-2008 11:49
A pair of C clamp vice grips and a small plate of copper has usually worked good for me on a lot of insane gaps.  I'd only use it as a structural cheat though, and only if you're going to gouge/grind out the bottom side!  :)
Parent - - By Joseph P. Kane (****) Date 08-07-2008 17:51
Nice looking.  How much does it cost?
Parent - By DaveBoyer (*****) Date 08-08-2008 03:39
The item pictured is $36.
Parent - - By DaveBoyer (*****) Date 08-08-2008 03:38
I have only seen them in pictures, but keep in mind that high temperatures kill magnets, so don't let them get real hot.
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 08-08-2008 04:01