Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / Diesel or Unleaded?
- - By jacanfora (*) Date 08-11-2008 16:52
I'm an AWS certified welder, currently enrolled in school for print reading, LA City certification D1.1 and 1.3, intermidiate arc, and semi-automatic welding. I'm looking to buy a truck in the near future and was wondering what the advantages are for diesel over unleaded gasoline engines, besides resale value. When they say 1500 or 2500 on gmc, chevy, and dodge what exatly are they reffering to. Any insight would be great. Much Thanx
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 08-11-2008 18:33
Hello jacanfora, welcome to the forum. The short story on the 1500, 2500, 3500 goes like this: 1500- 1/2 ton rating, 2500- 3/4 ton rating, 3500- 1 ton rating. Ford does the same thing using F150, F250, F350. Diesel vs. Gas- you'll likely get any number of responses for the pros and cons. Short version: Diesel will generally have more pulling power/torque and better fuel economy, can also have slightly greater upkeep cost, yet that will generally be offset by longer service life. Gas is generally cheaper on the initial vehicle cost, yet depending upon the miles driven and how hard you are on it, it will definitely burn much more fuel and could wear out in a much shorter period of time. There are lots of variables that could be considered between the two, I have just skimmed on some of them. I'm sure others will chime in on this, so stay tuned and consider all of the responses. Good luck and best regards, aevald
Parent - - By MDG Custom Weld (***) Date 08-12-2008 19:49
I think Allen has outlined this for you pretty good.