Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / CWI without training?
- - By stanfield Date 09-24-2001 17:50
I read and hear alot about CWI's that can't read prints and can't weld. How can these people get their
certification without training? Don't they have to have 5 years documented exper. or eductational equiv.?
I am a HS instructor and have taught for 5 years I also work 2nd's as a welder to get more exper., what does
it take to be a CWI, I am looking into it myself.

thanks,
mike stanfield
Alb. NM
Parent - By fbrieden (***) Date 09-25-2001 16:26
Mike,
I had to rely on 23 years industrial experience, 6 years eperience as a welding instructor as well as a 40 hour refresher course to achieve my CWI. It's amazing how others can accomplish this goal with minimum experiences and qualifications!
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 09-25-2001 22:59
I have also run across welders with certifications from schools with no ability to read a tape, understand welding symbols, work with fractions,set a machine up for GMAW/FCAW.

Sometimes the training that is given at some institutions is geared towards passing the test instead of being skilled.

I can show my wife how to pass a 6g 2" GTAW/SMAW pipe test in 40 hours. That will get her a job but won't help her keep it.

I have never had formal training(as an adult) given by another person/group related to welding knowledge required for the CWI exam. I had a welding instructor in high school that inspired me to learn as much as I could and that is how I learned. I was questioned by people after finishing early where I took the course. I told them it was learned in the bathroom.

The short term goals of some educational organizations don't always help individuals meet their long term goals.

Study to learn, not to pass.
Parent - By RonG (****) Date 09-26-2001 17:23
I have to agree with Pipewelder,
A CWI will get your foot in the door.