Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Which orbital welder is best?
- - By McGillicutty Date 09-02-2008 17:31
Hello, I'm a newbie to the forum and was hoping to get some input from the members here on your choice of orbital welder brand.  We currently use the Swagelok brand D75 welder for mostly 1/4" stainless steel semiconductor process lines here at the University of California Berkeley, but are now in the market for a replacement welder.  I'm doing the research and didn't even really know all the players in the orbital welder market.  I think I've now gotten most of the brands down, but don't really know which I should consider before others.  Can I get some advice on which brands might be the leaders in the industry and any other things I should consider before making a decision on which to purchase?  I've been pretty happy with the Swagelok, but with ARC, Liburdi, AMI, Weld Logic among others being available I want to hear what others think of those brands as well.  We're looking for a lightweight, relatively compact package that can be used for bench welding as well as in tight confines and that can be used to weld to the Swagelok Microfit fittings in 1/4" - 1/2" O.D. sizes.  Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Mike Linan
Parent - - By OBEWAN (***) Date 09-02-2008 17:45
We just bought two AMI 307's.  They have one of the most if not thee most advanced controls on the markert.  We are currently running Windows XP.  The price is fair for what you get.  If you are on a budget, there are good low cost units made by others.