Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / hi everyone. i am new... what weld test should i take?
- - By jaya flores Date 09-03-2008 00:44
hello everyone.
i am pretty new to these forums, and LOVE them so far, so thank you everyone for making them great.

i am a welder at this place called alaskan copper works, we build everything from sushi trays to big ass titanium heat exchangers, and many other things...
so here is my question, and i am 100% sure how to ask it.
i want to know what type of welding test i should take? i love my job, i have been working there for over 2 years, welding many types of metals/alloys and would like to take a test that some what relates to what i am doing now.

so here are some of the things i do... all with GTAW and GMAW ex. TI.

a lot of 304l/316l pipe from 1" to 10 feet. but mostly 6-12" sch. 40
al6xn pipe and heat exchangers w/w [welded with] inconel 625
duplex 2205 piping systems w/w 2209 and welded to MS
copper nickel 70/30 and 90/10 with rn67 and CN to MS with rn60 tanks for navy and piping mostly for boat exhaust
titanium grade 1,2,7,12 tanks/HE/piping
alloy 20 stuff.
and i dont know a lot of other piping and alloys and some aluminum.

so i kind of want to so something else for a year or two while i am still fairly young, so i want to get a cert that will help me find a new work place, and just make me a little more sought after.
i have passed in-house x-ray test and all these metals and maybe 8 other alloys/metals.

THANK YOU all so much for your help!
if you need any more info form me, please just ask. THANK you.
and info will help i am no clue what i am doing :) or where to look for testing.
BTW. i am in seattle WA.

thank you!!!
Parent - By jaya flores Date 09-03-2008 01:48
some pictures of what i do. http://www.flickr.com/photos/30133572@N07/
Parent - - By Kix (****) Date 09-03-2008 12:36