Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Want to Pipeline
- - By Rick Fowler Date 09-15-2008 05:15
  I have a couple of questions on the issue of pipeline welding. One subject is on the actual welding procedure and the other subject is the Pieliners Union. First of all though, I will say that I am a journeyman pipe welder with 20 years under my belt having started my career immediately after high school in 1988. I am proficient in TIG and STICK welding of carbon, stainless, and chrome alloy pipe and have worked in paper mills, power plants, chemical plants, and refineries throughout the southeastern United States. I am not trying to learn to weld but I am interested in a different field than what I am used to and that is where my questions come in. I am currently between jobs and trying to teach myself to downhill with 5/32" 8010-G rods. It is my understanding that is the standard rod for filling and capping on pipeline jobs. I am using 1/8" 6010 for the root. I am using two different test procedures in my "homeschooling". The first is the standard 90 degree branch test used by most pipeline companies. Although I could not get 12" pipe locally, I did find some clean 8" pipe at the local recycling center. I am comfortable with the root pass using the 6010 rods but when I start capping, things get kinda rough. I know that at this point I need more practice but what I need to know is if I should try to cap in one pass or can I cap in two passes. When I test for most jobs you are allowed 3 or 4 stringer passes on your cap depending on the size and schedule of the pipe and it is usually up to the welder. When welding the branch test, is the pipeline procedure carved in stone or is it up to the welder as to how to cap the weld? Also are you allowed to choose what size rods you want to use?