Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Beginner
- - By rlund Date 10-11-2001 23:38
I know I have a long row to hoe, but I bought a Miller Syncrowave 180 SD as my first welding machine. I chose it because I need to weld .080 aluminum sheet together. I have very little welding experience, but I'm not afraid to try anything.

Do any of the members here have any general advice that might help?

Thanks,
Ron
Parent - By DGXL (***) Date 10-12-2001 01:10
SCHOOL.
STUDY MATERIAL.
PRACTICE.
Parent - By airweld (**) Date 10-12-2001 16:48
It's a very steep learning curve in the beginning, so my advice is to take advantage of someone else's experience either in a school setting or maybe someone you know will give you some private tutoring. It'll cut way back on the frustration factor and you won't develop bad habits you will have trouble breaking later on. Good Luck, Scott.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 10-12-2001 19:34
Ron,

If you bought the Miller new your in luck, Miller electric actually provides excellent training media and literature related to GTA welding of aluminum. They have a Beginners CD which is kinda cool and a textbook covering GTA welding that is about 100 pages and costs very little.. I would think such things would be included in your purchase, if not let this be a lesson to others to drive a hard bargan and get every bit of factory support your purchase can leverage.

PS. Welding soda cans together is excellent and affordable practice exercise and also will impress prospective jobshop employers if you (tune up) a welding machine by doing this before a test :)

PSS. Clean your Tungsten Electrodes with a beltsander and NOT with a grinding wheel!

"Modern Welding Technology" By Howard B Cary is the top Hardcover Text (at least in my view)
Parent - - By airweld (**) Date 10-12-2001 21:05
Lawrence,