Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Weld Inspection
- - By George01824 Date 10-12-2001 02:48
I am an amateur welder and have done some modifications to the frame of my car. I would like to have the welds inspected to make sure they are strong enough and safe before I drive the car. I would like to know what options are available to me for this type of inspection, which is best, and considering economics a recommendation. The frame is in my garage and when I finish modifications I will have a rolling chassis. Is there an inspection method that could be done at my house or must it be brought to the inspector?

Another question is how do I find someone who can do this? I've looked in the yellow pages and gone through the Thomas Catalog but haven't found anything that's within a few hundred miles.

Is there some kind of licensing or certification I should ask for to make sure I'm getting a good inspection? Will I be issued a certificate or something showing the condition of welds and expectations of strength to handle the job?

Thanks for any info.

George
Parent - By BCSORT (*) Date 10-12-2001 15:59
I imagine that if you were to post were you are located on this forum someone might be interested in helping you out, as long as there is someone in your area.

Ask for a CWI.
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 10-12-2001 16:26
George,