Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / nuke welding questions
- - By abrahamx (*) Date 09-25-2008 14:07
As some may know I am a sheet metal mechanic who specializes in welding. I have been but not currently certified in Mig and stick d1.1, and mig d9.1. There is going to be some nuke plants going up in the future and was wondering if you guys could point me in the right direction so I can learn what I need to land a job. I can go through a business agent from my local but need to be able to preform. What is the typical type welding needed? I am assuming pipe welding with a tig root and stick cap but realy have no idea.
  Actually there is no work here in MI and I keep seeing all these jobs for pipe welding in the oil industry etc...  Just trying to see what/where I can learn the skill to land one of these seemingly abundant jobs.  They never call for sheet metal workers, just pipe welders and combo welders.  Whats a combo welder anyway.  I am a excellent welder in general so learning the process shouldnt be too difficult, just need to be pointed in the right direction. Any help in the right direction appreciated. Thanks. 
Parent - By OBEWAN (***) Date 09-25-2008 14:34
Most of the nuke work I have done was TIG on stainless, zirconium, and Inconel.  I suppose you might find some stick or flux core on structural pipe hangers.  There is probably a lot of orbital tube welding too.
Parent - By Metarinka (****) Date 09-25-2008 15:22
most nuke work to my knowledge is TIG as already noted, I believe they stick out some piping as well. almost no MIG but there is some flux core.  Also remember only the hot side that is exposed to nuclear material is built to extremely high standards. There still a rather large plant that falls under conventional structural code and low pressure piping etc.