Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / reasonable wage
- - By tbigtdav (*) Date 09-25-2008 23:50 Edited 09-26-2008 01:11
forgive me if i posted in the wrong section. i recently obtained cwi certification and am wondering what a fair wage is for somebody like myself. i graduated from a technical school in 2003 receiving an associates degree in welding technology. then after that ive worked in a fab shop for approx 5 yrs and when the company closed i got into inspection. i currently hold an mt,pt and cwi certs which i just received the cwi this month. i currently live in the northeast of the country(pa ohio area). if anyone can give insight as to what would be a reasonable wage to ask for would be appreciated. thank you in advance
Parent - By vagabond (***) Date 09-26-2008 05:05
I couldn't really say what to look for if your going to stay in town and work.  On the road even green CWI's (I got mine in April) are getting in the mid 30's an hour and that's with just a CWI no MT or PT.  I figure the going rate is 38-42 an hr. and 100-120 a day per diem.  Don't forget they are screaming for CWI's right now as well as everyone else.  Get some experience on your resume and you can demand more but I always ask a little high and so far it's been working out.  It's easier to get your money up front then try to get a raise later is my opinion.  As a welder more often than not to change my pay I had to change my employer and I'm trying to avoid that now that I'm an inspector.
Parent - - By swsweld (****) Date 10-01-2008 01:26
tbigtdav, I was hoping for more replies from the experienced CWIs as I can only tell you what I see on the job finding web sites.
I have seen adds for CWI as low as 20/hr and as high as 52/hr. But they are requiring lots of experience and other certs.