Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / State of the industry
- - By Brian Freeman Date 10-06-2008 14:02
Hi, Im currently a student working on a bachelors in automotive technology and lately Ive been thinking about going to a welding school and getting certified after college. Since high scool I have wanted to weld off and on. I took some welding in high school and all I heard was "youll always be able to find work" and "you could easily clear $100K/year". I was wondering if there was any truth to that or just the general state of the industry around the midwest (im in Missouri). Thanks for any help, Brian
Parent - - By shorthood2006 (****) Date 10-06-2008 14:16
you can easily clear over 100g. that is if you stay hooked up.
Parent - By jon20013 (*****) Date 10-06-2008 14:24
Brian, welding is a wonderful career and only you set your limitations.  You can absolutely clear $100K (and much better) depending on your approach and position. 

One of the problems industry is now seeing on a global basis is an enormous shortage of skilled labor.  Why?  Well, for the past 50 years or so, parents, teachers and professionals have been trained to tell young people to be Doctors, Lawyers, Engineer's, etc., get a college education (not bad advice), but of course, not everyone is suited for these professions or educational needs, and who wants to come out with a $250K student loan to repay?  Now then, in the past 10 - 12 years, with the advent of computers and internet, many young people are only interested in office jobs. 

Welding is the only field I've ever known, but I couldn't imagine a better one, it  provides the opportunity for a lifetime of learning and is good, honest work.  What else can I say?

Good luck and stay in touch!!!

EDIT: You may notice my home is in the suburbs of Detroit, I'd lose the idea of automotive technology if I were you.  Just my own humble opinion!