Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / I have the blessed with the chance to teach.
- - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 10-12-2008 14:26
Some of you may know that I have long wanted to teach. I had thought about starting my own school and had written various letters to places for support including the local paper.

At the same time one of the community colleges about 30 miles from here and some state/regional "consortium" had decided to purchase and use a "mobile welding lab" . It is a pre 2000 trailer with 7 booths setup with XMT 350's with wire feeders and tig rigs.

I actually started back in September and though I had posted something here but didn't. I love being able to teach one on one with the people that are interested. Some of the other things about "education" I am still learning. I only teach part time 3 hours a night 4 days a week as the facility is mobile and will leave the county as soon as interest in taking the classes goes away. There was not even a slight suggestion as to how long it would be here.

The "curriculum" is not based on anything I have ever seen. All of the practice is on 3/16" x 2" flatbar . And while it is great for developing skills to run a bead, there is nothing similar to what is done in local industry. I havent seen anything such as a course objective, reference to any specific acceptance criteria for tests etc.

I imagine the "curriculum" is under development and will develop as the program develops. Regardless I enjoy the time spent with the people interested in the subject.

Just thought I would let yall know :)

Have a good day.

Gerald Austin
Parent - By ctacker (****) Date 10-12-2008 20:49
Good for you, and the students. They have a good Instructor!
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 10-13-2008 17:47 Edited 10-13-2008 17:55
Gerald,

Your foot is in the door!