Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / EWE
- - By barbur Date 10-25-2001 19:49
I'm a metallurgical & materials engineer with a welding engineering diploma (480hr/training) from European Welding Federation & SLV München. Do I need to get a certification from AWS to work in the U. States?. And if there is an obligation to be certified, how is the certification done. Can anyone give any information related with the subject.
Thank You.
Parent - By GRoberts (***) Date 10-25-2001 23:03
I work as a welding engineer in the United States. When I have been looking for Jobs, I do not see to many that require certification. The only ones I have seen that do require it, required a "Registered Professional Engineer", which I am not, because I do not see the demand for it. It seems that most jobs that require the "Registered Professional Engineer", are places that sell engineering services. AWS does have what they call a "Certified Welding Engineer", but I think it is fairly new, and I have never seen a requirement for it. However, that does not mean that no one ever requires it, I just haven't seen it. I do have a degree in welding engineering, and that is enough to get you in the door at most places.

G Roberts
Parent - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 10-26-2001 22:31
Dear Barbur,
I'm not going to answer your question, for the simple reason I'm not in a position to answer it. Rather, I'm going to ask YOU a question. You say you are a Metallurgical and Materials Engineer. Being Professor at the Materials Engineering Department of the Engineering School of Mackenzie Univesity in Sao Paulo, Brazil, may I ask you what University you graduated from? I'm very interested in getting into contact with it (i.e, its Professors), to exchange ideas and experiences. Let me know also how can I get in touch with your College (address, e-mail etc.).
Thank you very much
Giovanni S. Crisi