Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Chit-Chat & Non-Welding Discussion / Off-Topic Bar and Grill / college degree and still welding
- - By stkwldr (**) Date 10-22-2008 22:27
How many of you out there on this forum have a four year college degree and still weld other than have an office job.  I graduated high school 1992 and also completed a two year welding program in 1993 (started while in HS).  Welding ever since. 13 years later I decided to go to college and received a bachelors of science in marketing (Oklahoma State, graduated Dec. 2007). I have been running my welding business for 5 years and put myself through college which I completed in 4 years.  I still have alot of people tell me,  "you have a degree now why are you still welding?" 

How many of you have experienced this? I feel that running my own business is a damm good job with lots of opportunities but every one says you cant do that forever.  I'm only 34 years old. What do you guy's think?

rs
Parent - - By dobsalot (**) Date 10-22-2008 23:10
Do what you think you should be doin, because your the one who knows what you want out of life.  I know several people who have a degree but they don't make as much money as us welders do! I enjoy welding, so I weld.  I was'nt smart enough  or financially able to go to college, I wish it had been different, but I'm happy with myself. The welding universe is infinite, with your knowledge in marketing and welding skills, you should have a successful business. Your only limited by your imagination!
Parent - By stkwldr (**) Date 10-23-2008 13:07
thanks for the reply. I have been told by some people, "your not going to get that kind of money going to work for a company."  This is after finding out what my per hour charge is. Thankfully people are willing to pay for skilled work. Right now I am happy with how things are.