Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / some cwi questions
- - By whiteyz Date 10-26-2008 12:28
Hey I am a 24 year old Iron worker/ fitter in south east pa. My work just decided about a month ago to send me to the week long class in the second week in november for the CWI course. The exam following the day after. I have been asking for books to study with not really any help from them. The class schedule is 3 days general review 1 day d1.1 code clinic and 1 day hands on clinic. I am a certified welder not sure if that will help at all. What math skills should I brush up on?  I know I really need to study symbols as I am horrible in that area. What am I looking at, most things I have read so far people have studied for months and barley passed. I have 2 weeks till the class. Please help, what am I in for???
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-26-2008 18:56
First, do you know for sure you have been excepted and that you are going at that time?  They will send you a packet detailing all reservations, dates, things you need to bring, etc.  Read it carefully.

Second, if you have been excepted for a class that soon- you're in for trouble is what you are in for.  You do not have time to order any study materials and pre-study.

Do not stay with relatives or friends in the area of the test.  Stay at the motel and STUDY.  Listen carefully at all the sessions.  Follow in the books.  Do all the questions at the end of the chapters and get to know them thoroughly.  I generally tell people to even get the books that are included in the cost of the exam months early and start studying then give or sell them to someone else later.  The added study time makes things so much easier.

See if someone you know, hopefully close by, has at least some of the study material and a copy of whichever code you are planning to test to.